University of Toronto — Rotman School of Management PhD Program
University of Toronto Rotman School of Management · Canada
- Degree level
- PhD / Doctorate
- Programme
- PhD Program in Management
- Funding type
- Five-year Rotman PhD doctoral funding minimum, PLUS full academic tuition scholarship; incidental fees and international UHIP not automatically covered
- Covers
- Tuition, Living stipend
- Details
- ROTMAN PHD IN MANAGEMENT VERIFIED FIVE-YEAR FUNDING FOR ELIGIBLE ADMITTED AND ENROLLED FULL-TIME STUDENTS, INCLUDING INTERNATIONAL CANDIDATES (NOT A GUARANTEE TO ALL APPLICANTS): YEAR 1 minimum CAD $41,200 financial support PLUS a separate scholarship covering the programme's full ACADEMIC TUITION FEES. YEARS 2, 3 and 4 minimum CAD $34,300 PER YEAR financial support PLUS a separate FULL ACADEMIC TUITION SCHOLARSHIP each year. YEAR 5 minimum CAD $41,200 PLUS academic tuition if student is ON THE ACADEMIC JOB MARKET; otherwise minimum CAD $34,300 PLUS academic tuition. YEARS 6 AND LATER: NO GUARANTEED FUNDING. Students may apply for RESEARCH ASSISTANT, TEACHING ASSISTANT and INSTRUCTOR POSITIONS to earn ADDITIONAL income; do not assume automatic employment or a higher guarantee. IMPORTANT UNFUNDED/SEPARATE FEES: ROTMAN's TUITION SCHOLARSHIP COVERS FULL ACADEMIC FEES, NOT NECESSARILY INCIDENTAL/SYSTEM ACCESS/ANCILLARY OR INTERNATIONAL STUDENT UHIP HEALTH INSURANCE. For 2026–27 the programme lists academic tuition CAD $6,330 covered by tuition scholarship, INCIDENTAL/ANCILLARY FEES CAD $2,292.39, and UHIP single-person coverage CAD $862.43 INTERNATIONAL ONLY (2026–27 figures, NOT guaranteed 2027–28 costs). 'COVERS HEALTH INSURANCE' is FALSE. Having access to mandatory UHIP does NOT make it a funded scholarship benefit. No separate guaranteed housing, relocation, visa costs or travel stipend. Application fee: official Rotman PhD front page quotes CAD $130 and announces PROGRAMME SPECIFIC waivers for applicants from selected 'underrepresented groups and conflict regions', but SGS FAQ says CAD $135 for September 2027 intake and general SGS fee waiver 'No'. Do NOT assume waiver or fee amount without verifying in 2027 application portal/with Rotman. 2026–27 fee amounts and award rates may change in 2027–28. OFFICIAL https://www.rotman.utoronto.ca/programs/phd-program/financial-information/ ; https://www.rotman.utoronto.ca/programs/phd-program/ ; https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/faq/
- Intake
- Fall 2027
- Deadline
- Deadline 8 January 2027 (time not confirmed).
- Schedule
- UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO ROTMAN SCHOOL OF MANAGEMENT, PHD IN MANAGEMENT, FALL/SEPTEMBER 2027 ENTRY. 2027 APPLICATION STATUS: OPEN; ROTMAN HAS EXPLICITLY CONFIRMED APPLICATIONS FOR FALL 2027 ARE OPEN. APPLICATION, REQUIRED PAYMENT OR ROTMAN-APPROVED PROGRAMME FEE WAIVER, AND ALL SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS: FRIDAY JANUARY 8, 2027. ROTMAN DOES NOT STATE AN EXACT DEADLINE CLOCK TIME OR TIMEZONE ON ITS PHD ADMISSIONS PAGE; DO NOT INVENT 11:59 PM, EASTERN TIME OR OTHER CLOSING TIME. Submit ahead of the date. NO JANUARY START and NO ROLLING ADMISSIONS. Application review in early February; admission decisions typically MID-FEBRUARY TO MARCH. All application sections, statement of intent, CV, scans of transcripts for EVERY postsecondary institution, minimum two reference letters and any applicable standardized/English testing must be complete by JANUARY 8. FALL 2027 GRE (OR GMAT/GRE STANDARDIZED TEST) IS OPTIONAL THIS CYCLE BUT THE SCHOOL HIGHLY RECOMMENDS A STRONG GRE RESULT; official Rotman webpage contains stale 'Fall 2026' test guidance that must not override the CURRENT Fall 2027 statement in the deadlines paragraph. ROTMAN WEBSITE'S APPLICATION FORM GUIDE does not specify a fee-waiver deadline distinct from January 8. EXACT FEE CONFLICT: Rotman's current PhD landing page advertises 'application fee of $130 CDN' plus a special waiver for selected UNDERREPRESENTED GROUPS AND CONFLICT REGIONS. University of Toronto School of Graduate Studies FAQ lists CAD $135 for SEPTEMBER 2027 applications, while CAD $130 was for SEPTEMBER 2026/JANUARY OR MAY 2027 starts. The fee CAN THEREFORE NOT BE GUARANTEED AS CAD $130 FOR THIS 2027 INTAKE. Confirm exact current amount and eligible Rotman-specific programme waiver with the SGS application portal/PhD programme BEFORE PAYMENT. Do not assert every Ghanaian is eligible, or that general SGS waivers apply. OFFICIAL: https://www.rotman.utoronto.ca/programs/phd-program/admissions/ https://www.rotman.utoronto.ca/programs/phd-program/ https://www.sgs.utoronto.ca/future-students/faq/
University of Toronto Rotman PhD in Management, Fall 2027. International applicants eligible for a highly competitive five-year full-academic-tuition scholarship plus annual minimum funding (CAD $41,200 year 1, CAD $34,300 years 2–4, CAD $34,300–41,200 year 5); incidental fees and UHIP separately payable. GRE optional but highly recommended. January 8 2027 deadline.
How to Apply
Official application instructions
- Read the provider’s official requirements and confirm the current application route.
- Check the applicable eligibility, documents and deadline with the provider.
- Follow the provider’s instructions; a direct application form is not confirmed here.
Opening a link does not submit an application. Confirm current deadlines and requirements with the provider; admission and funding are not guaranteed.
Always confirm eligibility, funding and deadlines with the official provider. AfriStudyFree does not guarantee admission or funding.
Want to know which of these fit you?
Create a free account for personalized matching, saved opportunities and application tools.